Attachment Trauma

If you looking for easy-to-read, high quality information about the effects of trauma in primary attachment relationships (hereafter referred to as attachment trauma), and what can be done to treat its effects during childhood, please visit my new page at securestart.com.au.Secure Start

I prepared this page in order to consolidate three significant articles I have written about children who have experienced trauma in their primary attachment relationships in one location. It is suitable for readers who work with these children in a professional capacity.

I use the term Attachment Trauma to signify that all major schools of thought concerning complex developmental trauma in childhood are deeply embedded in attachment theory, with remediation approaches being similarly embedded in attachment concepts and attachment relationships. It seems a little unfashionable to refer to attachment in the context of child trauma these days, but even subscribers to the neurobiology of trauma literature will find that it relies heavily on attachment theory and attachment relationships for answers about how to remediate the effects of developmental trauma.

While I have your attention, I might also advise that I am in discussion with my publishers, Jessica Kingsley, about writing a book for professionals who work with children who have experienced attachment trauma. Depending on the outcome of these discussions, there may be fewer posts on this site this year.

Before you go, please click here to view my new page at securestart.com.au!

About colbypearce

I am a practising Clinical Psychologist with twenty-seven years’ experience working with children and young people recovering from abuse and neglect. I am also an author and educator in trauma-informed, therapeutic caregiving. My programs are implemented in Australia and Ireland, and I am well-known for my practical and accessible guidance for caregivers and professionals alike.
This entry was posted in AAA Caregiving, Adoption, Attachment, Fostering, Parenting, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attachment Trauma

  1. thefamilyof5 says:

    Brilliant and super useful, thank you for sharing!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.